Olympique de Marseille v Club Atletico de Madrid - UEFA Europa League Final
LYON, FRANCE - MAY 16: Jan Oblak #13 of Atletico Madrid reacts during the UEFA Europa League Final between Olympique de Marseille and Club Atletico de Madrid at Stade de Lyon on May 16, 2018 in Lyon, France. (Photo by Maja Hitij/Getty Images)

Atletico Madrid goalkeeper Jan Oblak has won the Zamora trophy for the third consecutive season after another impressive campaign, reports Marca

The Zamora Trophy is an award from Marca that goes to the goalkeeper in La Liga that has the lowest goals-t0-games ratio.

Despite having conceded two goals in Atletico’s final day draw against Eibar on Sunday, Oblak’s consistent displays in goal for the runners-up ensured that he beat Barcelona’s Marc-Andre ter Stegen to win the highly coveted award for a third successive time.

The Slovenian only conceded 22 goals this season compared to Ter Stegen’s 28.

Only two other goalkeepers in LaLiga history have won the Zamora trophy in three consecutive seasons:

• Victor Valdés (4)
• Luis Arconada (3)
• Jan Oblak (3)

Should the former Benfica star stay at Madrid for the foreseeable future, then he can target Antoni Ramallets and Valdes’ record of five Zamora awards throughout their respective careers.

Despite drawing 2-2 against Eibar at home, Atletico finished ahead of city rivals Real Madrid for second place in La Liga.