French football awards shortlists announced

The finalists for the most important personal awards in France have been announced.

Written by Cosmin Mihalescu. April 27, 2017

The French Football League is getting ready to acknowledge the best players of the season in Ligue 1. The list of four players and four coaches for the individual awards for the 2016/2017 season has been announced.

The Ligue 1 best player award will be disputed by Alexandre Lacazette (Lyon), Bernardo Silva (Monaco), Edinson Cavani and Marco Verratti (both PSG).

For the Ligue 1 best manager award, the four final choices are: Lucien Favre (Nice), Leonardo Jardim (Monaco), Jocelyn Gourvennec (Bordeaux) and Unai Emery (PSG).

Besides the best player and best manager award, there is also a competition for the best young player in Ligue 1. This year’s nominees are: Adrien Rabiot (PSG), Wylan Cyprien (Nice), Kylian Mbappe and Thomas Lemar (Monaco).

The best goalkeeper in Ligue 1 will be chosen from the following: Danijel Subasic (Monaco), Kevin Trapp (PSG), Anthony Lopes (Lyon) and Baptiste Reynet (Dijon).

The French Football League will also award the best French player who plays abroad. The winner will be chosen from the following four: Ousmane Dembele (Dortmund), Karim Benzema (Real Madrid), N’Golo Kante (Chelsea) and Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid).