• News

Argentina and Colombia to co-host Copa America 2020

Getty Images

Argentina and Colombia have been confirmed as co-hosts of Copa America 2020.

The South American Football organization CONMEBOL confirmed the expansion of the tournament to comprising 38 matches.

The new format will see the countries initially split into two groups of six teams.

Which comprises of a South Zone – Argentina, Chile, Uruguay, Paraguay, Bolivia and a guest nation – and a North Zone made up of Colombia, Brazil, Venezuela, Ecuador, Peru and one further invited country.

Four teams from each group will qualify for the quarter-final stage.

In announcing the decision, CONMEBOL president Alejandro Dominguez said via SI: “The central objective of this change is to provide more facilities to fans and to bring the matches of the national teams geographically to the South American public.

“The fan will be able to enjoy at least five of his national team matches, which reinforces the spectacle and the sporting celebration.”

The Copa America will also be held in 2019, with Brazil hosting the event this summer four years after the 2015 tournament took place in South American soil.

EAST RUTHERFORD, NJ – JUNE 26: Claudio Bravo #1 of Chile hoist the trophy after defeating Argentina to win the Copa America Centenario Championship match at MetLife Stadium on June 26, 2016, in East Rutherford, New Jersey. Chile defeated Argentina 4-2 in penalty kicks. (Photo by Mike Stobe/Getty Images)

Chile won both the 2015 and 2016 Copa America, beating Argentina twice on penalties in the final on both occasions.

This year’s Copa America in Brazil, which kicks off on June 14, will be the last to be played in an even year. After 2020, the South American tournament will once again be held every four years.