• News

Asian Cup Quarterfinals will be played on January 24

Getty Images

Eight teams are looking to win the 2019 AFC Asian Cup, while current champion Australia is one of them and is still defending its crown won four years ago.

With the 1-0 Qatar win over Iraq tonight, the Round of 16 is over in the 2019 AFC Asian Cup.

And with that, the tournament advances to the next round as eight teams are set to face each other off in the Quarterfinals.

Everything will start on Thursday, January 24 as Vietnam and Japan visit Al Maktoum Stadium in Dubai.

A few hours later, China and Iran will meet in Mohammed Bin Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

The Quarterfinals continue on the 25th when South Korea plays against 2022 FIFA World Cup hosts Qatar at Zayed Sports City Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

Asian Cup hosts the United Arab Emirates will meet current champions Australia in Al Ain, at Hazza Bin Zayed.

The four winners of this round will play the Semifinals on January 28 and 29, while the final will be played on February 1st at Zayed Sports City in Abu Dhabi.

Japan, Qatar, and South Korea are the only three teams in the competition which have won all of their matches so far.

Australia is the current champion and hopes to continue its reign after this year’s competition.

Meanwhile, hosts UAE still have their hopes up to be able to win the cup at home.