• News

Awards – Ballon D’Or Yashin award for best goalkeeper

ballon d'or
Getty Images

Is there any candidate other than Alisson Becker worthy of the Yashin Award for the best goalkeeper?

The Yashin award is given for the best goalkeeper.

It is a tribute to the late former Soviet Union keeper Lev Yashin.

Yashin is still to this day, the only goalkeeper to have ever won the actual Ballon d’Or for the best footballer in the world.

It’s hard to see past Liverpool’s Champions League winner and FIFA Best goalkeeper Alisson Becker, who also added the Copa America to his haul for the 2019 season.

While Kepa Arrizabalaga of Chelsea was the keeper for the Europa League champions, he is still some way behind his Brazilian counterpart.

The list is dominated by the Premier League once more. As Manchester City’s Ederson and Tottenham’s Hugo Lloris are in the ten-man list also.

Surely if Frances World Cup-winning keeper was to take the honour last year was his time.

There are two national team pairings.

Germany teammates and almost bitter rivals Manuel Neuer and Marc- Andre ter Stegen on the list. Plus Slovenian pair, Oblak and Handanovic.

The list is rounded out by Ajax and Cameroon’s Onana, and Juventus and Poland’s Szczesny.

Real Madrid’s Thibaut Courtois and Manchester United’s David De Gea are probably the most notable absentees.

Who cold forget Gianluigi Buffon who at the age of 40 won the Ligue 1 title with PSG and made the knock out stags of the Champions League. He also failed to make the short list.

According to France Football, the list reads as follows:

  • Alisson Becker (Liverpool/Brazil)
  • Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich/Germany)
  • Ederson Morães (Man City/Brazil)
  • André Onana (Ajax/Cameroon)
  • Wojciech Szczesny (Juventus/Poland)
  • Jan Oblak (Atlético Madrid/Slovenia)
  • Kepa Arrizabalaga (Chelsea/Spain)
  • Samir Handanovic (Inter/Slovenia)
  • Hugo Lloris (Tottenham/France)
  • Marc-André ter Stegen (Barcelona/Germany)

Anyone but Alisson Becker would surely be a travesty!