• News

Awards – the EPL dominates Ballon D’Or nominations

Luka modric, ballon d'or
Getty Images

The 30 nominees for the prestigious Ballon D’Or award is dominated by English Premier League players.

Of the thirty players nominated, 15 are from the Premier League, seven are from La Liga, three from Serie A, two from France, two from Holland and one from Germany.

UEFA Champions League winners Liverpool are the best-represented team, with seven nominees.

Both players from Ligue 1 come from PSG, and both Eridivise players are from Ajax.

The front runners are the UEFA player of the year top three and FIFA best top three Virgil van Dijk, Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo.

Perhaps a big surprise was that PSG’s Neymar did not even make the list.

The list according to France Football reads as follows:

  • Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool/Netherlands)
  • Bernardo Silva (Man City/Portugal)
  • Heung-min Son (Tottenham/South Korea)
  • Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich/Poland)
  • Roberto Firmino (Liverpool/Brazil)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus/Portugal)
  • Alisson Becker (Liverpool/Brazil)
  • Matthijs de Ligt (Ajax/Juventus/Netherlands)
  • Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)
  • Georginio Wijnaldum (Liverpool/Netherlands)
  • Kylian Mbappé (PSG/France)
  • Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool/England)
  • Donny van de Beek (Ajax/Netherlands)
  • Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal/Gabon)
  • Marc-André ter Stegen (Barcelona/Germany)
  • Sadio Mané (Liverpool/Senegal)
  • Sergio Agüero (Man City/Argentina)
  • Frenkie de Jong (Ajax/Barcelona/Netherlands)
  • Hugo Lloris (Tottenham/France)
  • Dusan Tadic (Ajax/Serbia)
  • Lionel Messi (Barcelona/Argentina)
  • Riyad Mahrez (Man City/Algeria)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (Man City/Belgium)
  • Kalidou Koulibaly (Napoli/Senegal)
  • Antoine Griezmann (Atlético Madrid/Barcelona/France)
  • Mohamed Salah (Liverpool/Egypt)
  • Eden Hazard (Chelsea/Real Madrid/Belgium)
  • Marquinhos (PSG/Brazil)
  • Raheem Sterling (Man City/England)
  • João Félix (Benfica/Atlético Madrid/Portugal)

The winner will be announced and crowned on December 2nd.

Last year saw Luka Modric break the dominance of Messi and Ronaldo.

Will we see a new face lift the coverted golden ball, or will one of the two usual suspects pick up another trophy.

Perhaps Virgil Van Dijk will finally get the recognition he deserves.