• News

Brazil name 23-man squad for 2019 Copa America

Getty Images

Brazil have announced the 23-man squad they will be using for the upcoming Copa America tournament.

Eight-time winners Brazil will host the competition this summer and, therefore, are considered the strong favourites to win on home soil. Bolivia, Venezuela, and Peru await them in Group A.

Brazil boss Tite will hope home support prompts his side to end a 12-year wait for Copa America glory.

However, the Brazilian football association (CFB) announced that Tite has already made a number of surprise decisions in his final Brazil squad.

Real Madrid duo Marcelo and Vinicius Junior, who is yet to win a senior cap, have both been omitted. While Liverpool midfielder Fabinho and Tottenham winger Lucas Moura also miss out for Brazil.

The Premier League duo’s absence is, perhaps, the biggest surprise of all given their stellar campaigns.

After completing a £43.7m move from AS Monaco last summer, Fabinho has become a vital part of the Liverpool squad with his versatility being a great asset.

On the other hand, Lucas has risen to stardom following his heroic hat-trick against Ajax. It enabled Spurs to overturn a three-goal aggregate deficit in their semi-final tie to reach their first-ever Champions League final.

Meanwhile, Neymar has been included in the Brazil team after successfully recovering in time from a long-term foot injury to return to action for Paris Saint-Germain.

34-year-old Thiago Silva is a surprise inclusion despite the fact he’s missed PSG’s last six matches due to a meniscal injury.

Manchester City midfielder Fernandinho is also included amid doubts over his international future.

23-man Copa America squad

Goalkeepers: Alisson Becker (Liverpool), Ederson (Manchester City), Cassio (Corinthians)

Defenders: Dani Alves (PSG), Fagner (Corinthians), Thiago Silva (PSG), Marquinhos (PSG), Miranda (Inter Milan), Eder Militao (Porto), Alex Sandro (Juventus), Filipe Luis (Atletico Madrid)

Midfielders: Casemiro (Real Madrid), Fernandinho (Manchester City), Arthur Melo (Barcelona), Allan (Napoli), Lucas Paquetá (Milan), Philippe Coutinho (Barcelona)

Forwards: Neymar (PSG), Everton (Gremio), David Neres (Ajax), Richarlison (Everton), Roberto Firmino (Liverpool), Gabriel Jesus (Manchester City)