• News

BREAKING: FIFA 21’s Team of the Year revealed

Juventus v SSC Napoli - Italian PS5 Supercup
Getty Images

EA Sports revealed this Friday which 11 players have made it to their Ultimate Team of the Year.

After over 10 million votes were cast throughout 185 countries, the results are finally in. As FIFA fans all around the world had been expecting, EA Sports released their FIFA 21 Team of the Year.

As it was expected, Cristiano Ronaldo made the list this year after being left out of FIFA 20’s selection. In fact, the Portuguese forward was named TOTY’s 12th Player, meaning he was the first footballer who failed the cut.

However, this year’s starting XI came with another surprise absence. Lionel Messi wasn’t one of the most voted players on the list. Moreover, FIFA is yet to release who was this year’s 12th Player. Therefore, there is currently no way of verifying where Messi stands on the list of the 70 nominees.

Cristiano Ronaldo is the only Juventus player to feature in the selected squad, accompanied by one other Portuguese footballer. Check-out below which players also made it to FIFA 21’s Team of the Year.

Goalkeeper: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich).

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Virgil Van Dijk (Liverpool), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Alphonso Davies (Bayern Munich).

Midfielders: Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United).

Attackers: Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich), Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain).