The 2018/19 Champions League positional award nominees have been announced, with plenty of big names and a few surprise omissions.

UEFA re-introduced the positional awards in 2017 to acknowledge the Champions League’s best player in each position for each season. The likes of Cristiano Ronaldo, Sergio Ramos and Gianluigi Buffon have all won prizes in their respective roles.

Now UEFA has unveiled it’s latest candidates for the best goalkeeper, defender, midfielder and forward from last season competition. A total of three nominees have been named for each role.

Five Liverpool players, including Virgil van Dijk, are in the mix following the club’s European triumph. However, Mohamed Salah surprisingly didn’t make the cut despite his strong performances.

Hugo Lloris and Christian Eriksen will represent runners-up Tottenham at the UEFA awards along with now-former Ajax youngsters Matthijs de Ligt and Frenkie de Jong.

Unsurprisingly, five-time Ballon d’Or winners Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi are in contention for the best forward prize along with Sadio Mane.

2018/19 UEFA Champions League positional awards nominees

Goalkeepers: Alisson Becker (Liverpool), Hugo Lloris (Tottenham), Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona)


Chiellini: I was a Milan fan but then I became intelligent

Chiellini has revealed that he supported Milan as he grew up but changed his mind with age. Giorgio Chiellini is one of the most decorated...

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Matthijs de Ligt (Ajax – now at Juventus), Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)

Midfielders: Frenkie de Jong (Ajax – now at Barcelona), Christian Eriksen (Tottenham), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool)

Forwards: Sadio Mane (Liverpool), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus)

The European governing body will announce the winners during the 2019/20 UEFA Champions League group stage draw in Monaco on August 29.

The UEFA Men’s and Women’s Player of the Year winners will also be announced on the very same day.

Meanwhile, Eden Hazard heads the three-man shortlist for the Europa League’s Player of the Season prize along with his new Real Madrid team-mate Luka Jovic and old Chelsea colleague Olivier Giroud.

BAKU, AZERBAIJAN – MAY 29: Eden Hazard and Olivier Giroud of Chelsea celebrate with the Europa League Trophy.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here