• News

Cristiano Ronaldo named Man United Player of the Year for FOURTH time

Cristiano Ronaldo
© Oleg Dubyna

The Portuguese superstar matches David De Gea’s record for most Player of the Year awards at Old Trafford.

Cristiano Ronaldo has won the Player of the Year award at Manchester United.

The five-time Ballon d’Or winner enjoyed an incredible season since making his sensational return to Old Trafford last summer.

Despite United’s struggles, Ronaldo maintained his form, scoring 18 league goals for the Red Devils. He finished behind Son Heung-min and Mohamed Salah in the Premier League Golden Boot rankings.

However, his performances have convinced United fans to vote him as the club’s best player in the past year. 60% of the voters selected Ronaldo while David De Gea and Fred finished behind him with 29% and 2%, respectively.

Ronaldo has also been nominated to win the PFA Player of the Year award. Other nominees are Virigil Van Dijk, Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane, Kevin De Bruyne, and Harry Kane.

This year’s prize marks the fourth time Ronaldo has won the Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year award. He previously won the award in the 2003-04, 2006-07 and 2007-08 campaigns.

Ronaldo and De Gea are the only players who have won the award four times. Bruno Fernandes claimed back to back awards for his performances in the 2019-20 and 2020-21 seasons.

Before him, Luke Shaw, Ander Herrera, Robin van Persie and Antonio Valencia had won the award in the past decade.