• News

Cristiano Ronaldo nominated for Player of the Century award

Cristiano Ronaldo, Globe Soccer, Player of the Century
Getty Images

The Portuguese legend’s incredible exploits have been recognized with nominations for Globe Soccer’s Player of the Century and Player of the Year awards.

Cristiano Ronaldo has made a 28-man shortlist for a special award to honor the best footballer of the 21st century by the Globe Soccer Awards.

The event organizers traditionally award the best players, coaches, and agents of a calendar year in an annual ceremony in Dubai, with the latest one to take place on December 27. In light of the COVID-19 pandemic, there will be fewer attendances than normal.

But everything will go ahead as planned, including a new special award in the best player of the 21st century.

Fans from around the world can also vote for their favorite candidate out of the 28-man shortlist below. To cast your vote, all you have to do is visit the Globe Soccer website and select your pick.

Voters can also decide on the best coach, club, and agent of the century.

Player of the Century 2001-2020

In alphabetical order by the player’s first name, here is the 28-man shortlist.

Andrea PirloIker CasillasRonaldinho
Andres IniestaKakaRonaldo Nazario
Andriy ShevchenkoKylian MbappeSergio Ramos
Arjen RobbenLionel MessiSteven Gerrard
Cristiano RonaldoLuis FigoXavi Hernandez
David BeckhamManuel NeuerZinedine Zidane
Fabio CannavaroMohamed SalahZlatan Ibrahimovic
Francesco TottiNeymar
Frank LampardPhilipp Lahm
Gianluigi BuffonRobert Lewandowski

Player of the Year 2020

Ronaldo, meanwhile, has been nominated again for Globe Soccer’s Player of the Year prize in 2020. He won it last year for a record sixth time and has made a strong case for himself again after impressing for Juventus and Portugal.

Radamel Falcao, Franck Ribery, and Lionel Messi have won the award once since it’s founding in 2011.

In alphabetical order by the player’s first name, here is the eight-man shortlist.

Ciro ImmobileLazioItaly
Cristiano RonaldoJuventusPortugal
Karim BenzemaReal MadridFrance
Lionel MessiBarcelonaArgentina
Robert LewandowskiBayern MunichPoland
Sadio ManeLiverpoolSenegal
Serge GnabryBayern MunichGermany