• Betting

De Bruyne favorite in latest PFA Player of the Year odds

Kevin De Bruyne, Manchester City, PFA Player of the Year
Getty Images

Jordan Henderson may be the FWA winner, but bookmakers are convinced Kevin De Bruyne will take home the big prize.

Kevin De Bruyne’s remarkable performances captivated everyone in the Premier League. He equaled Thierry Henry’s record of 20 assists and even scored 13 goals, making him arguably everyone’s player of the year. Or so we thought so…

It was Jordan Henderson who instead scooped the Football Writers’ Association (FWA) player of the year.

To be fair, Liverpool’s title-winning captain was outstanding in his own right. The stats may not reflect this, but his battling displays and leadership skills proved vital for the Reds.

But while Henderson can take pride in his FWA achievement, bettors don’t expect a repeat in the PFA Player of the Year.

According to odds on Nicer Odds, De Bruyne is the clear favorite. The Manchester City ace has odds of 1.36 to claim a first PFA prize, with Henderson behind him in the betting on 3.35.

PFA Player of the Year favorites

1Kevin De Bruyne1.36
2Jordan Henderson3.35
3Sadio Mane11.0
4Virgil van Dijk21.0
5Trent Alexander Arnold21.0
6Mohamed Salah26.0
7Jamie Vardy41.0

Although we should point out that Liverpool players have won the PFA prize for the last two seasons (Mohamed Salah – 2017/18 & Virgil van Dijk – 2018/19) despite not winning the Premier League.

So now the Reds are champions this summer, who’s to say Henderson won’t make it two out of two?

The last player to win the PFA award in a championship-winning team was N’Golo Kante with Chelsea in 2016/17.