• News

De Bruyne? Van Dijk? Fans talk on who should be PFA Player of The Year

De Bruyne, Van Dijk
Getty Images

In less than 24 hours from now, the PFA Player of the Year for 2020 will be announced. A number of players already have a good shout to be crowned the best player this term. To mention a few, Kevin De Bruyne, Sadio Mane, Jordan Henderson, and Virgil Van Dijk are among those names.

It’s easy to see why the shortlist would comprise mostly of Liverpool players. Runaway champions by far this year and no other team came close to the Reds in terms of consistency and intensity.

However, Kevin De Bruyne has been arguably the best player so far on an individual basis. The Belgian is the only player with 10+ goals and assists this term.

One more assist on the final day would see him equal Thierry Henry’s current record of 20 per season. Two more means he breaks the record.

When you consider that Salah once won the award when City won the title, De Bruyne does have a strong claim to win the award this year.

In the same vein, you would agree that there is a certain bias for the title winners of any season. It was a close race between City and Liverpool last term but then the dominance at the top this season was unrivaled.

That all but means the likes of Jordan Henderson, Virgil Van Dijk, and Mane also boast strong chances of winning the award. Does De Bruyne deserve to win it regardless? Well, let’s take a look at what fans are saying about this.

Sky Sports put out the question this morning and we take a look at some of the best responses so far.

One Newcastle fan claimed the winner has to be Henderson. He gave his reason for saying that.

Bruno Fernandes only came in January but was included in the discussion. One United fan had to disagree with it all.

Well, another thinks it should be De Bruyne. Liverpool won as a team but the Belgian has been particularly standout.

Well, one United fan thinks Bruno Fernandes deserves a shout. He’s lifted the whole squad since his arrival.

Once again, the clear answer should be De Bruyne, claims another fan.

The wait is almost over now and we’ll have and see who wins the big prize tomorrow.