• News

Final 30-man shortlist for 2018 Ballon d’Or

Lionel Messi
Getty Images

The final 30-man shortlist for this year’s Ballon d’Or award has been unveiled with eight Real Madrid players included

The Ballon d’Or is a prestigious individual award that was first presented to Sir Stanley Matthews in 1956 and has since been awarded to the best player of the year ever since.

Five-time winners Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi have dominated the prize for the past decade, although Luka Modric is considered the strong favourite for this year’s Ballon d’Or after claiming the FIFA and UEFA Player of the Year awards.

France Football have named the Croatian playmaker on the 30-man shortlist along with seven of his Real Madrid teammates.

11 Premier League players have also made the list with Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah, Chelsea’s Eden Hazard, Manchester United’s Paul Pogba and Manchester City’s Sergio Aguero among them.

Both Ronaldo and Messi are on the list with the pair aiming for a record sixth Ballon d’Or this year.

The winner will be announced in Paris on December 3.

30-man shortlist for 2018 Ballon d’Or

  • Sergio AgĂŒero (ARG / Manchester City)
  • Alisson (BRE / Liverpool)
  • Gareth Bale (GAL / Real Madrid)
  • Karim Benzema (FRA / Real Madrid)
  • Edinson Cavani (URU / PSG)
  • Thibaut Courtois (BEL / Chelsea)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (POR / Juventus Turin)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (BEL / Manchester City)
  • Roberto Firmino (BRE / Liverpool)
  • Diego Godin (URU / AtlĂ©tico Madrid)
  • Antoine Griezmann (FRA / AtlĂ©tico Madrid)
  • Eden Hazard (BEL / Chelsea)
  • Isco (ESP / Real Madrid)
  • Harry Kane (ANG / Tottenham)
  • N’Golo KantĂ© (FRA / Chelsea)
  • Hugo Lloris (FRA / Tottenham)
  • Mario Mandzukic (CRO / Juventus Turin)
  • Sadio ManĂ© (SEN / Liverpool)
  • Marcelo (BRE / Real Madrid)
  • Kylian MbappĂ© (FRA / PSG)
  • Lionel Messi (ARG / FC Barcelone)
  • Luka Modric (CRO / Real Madrid)
  • Neymar (BRE / PSG)
  • Jan Oblak (SLO / AtlĂ©tico Madrid)
  • Paul Pogba (FRA / Manchester United)
  • Ivan Rakitic (CRO / FC Barcelone)
  • Mohamed Salah (EGY / Liverpool)
  • Sergio Ramos (ESP / Real Madrid)
  • Luis Suarez (URU / FC Barcelone)
  • RaphaĂ«l Varane (FRA / Real Madrid)