• News

Golden Boy award nominees announced

Matthijs de Ligt, Juventus
Getty Images

The Italian newspaper Tuttosport publishes their Golden Boy award every season.

This is a highly regarded award in the world of football. Some of the biggest names won it in the past, and the competition seems as if was never this fierce.

The last year’s winner, Matthijs de Ligt, made his big move to Juventus this summer after captaining Ajax to the Champions League semi-finals.

De Ligt is nominated this season, too. Some of the other favorites are Jadon Sancho and Kai Havertz.

Sancho is having a dream spell at Dortmund, where he set himself up as one of the Bundesliga’s best players.

The youngsters moved away from England in 2018 from City to join the young Dortmund side.

However, he isn’t the only brilliant youngster in the Bundesliga. Kai Havertz is regarded as the future hope of German football.

A complete footballer with strength, technique, and understanding of the game will be sought after this summer.

Barcelona, Real Madrid, and Bayern are just some of the clubs to enter the race for Leverkusen’s gem.

However, those two aren’t the only big names on the list.

Joao Felix joined Atletico Madrid this summer in €120 million move from Benfica. He already showed flashes of his talent but needs a bit more consistency in his performances.

Salzburg merciless striker Erling Haaland also found his name on the list, after scoring a Champions League hat-trick on his debut in the competition.

Some of the most notable names to have won this award in the past include Kylian Mbappe, Paul Pogba, Isco, Lionel Messi and Wayne Rooney.

The award’s first winner ever was Rafel van der Vaart playing for Ajax.

Raheem Sterling is another Golden Boy award winner, who just found his ground after Guardiola’s arrival to City.

It will be interesting to see how journalists vote for the winner, as there’s plenty of players to choose from.