• News

Jurgen Klopp named LMA Manager of the Year

Getty Images

Liverpool’s Jurgen Klopp has been named the League Managers Association manager of the year.

Klopp led Liverpool to an impressive Premier League win. It was the Reds’ first English top-flight title for 30 years.

That feat means the Reds are currently the European, World (club World Cup) and Premier League champions.

Klopp saw off competition from the likes of Sheffield’s Chris Wilder and Leeds’ Marcelo Bielsa to win the award.

The award was presented by former Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson himself.

In a personal message to Klopp after announcing him as the winner, Sir Alex said via Sky Sports:

“Jurgen, fantastic. We speak about Leeds spending 16 years in the Championship, but Liverpool 30 years since winning that league, incredible.

“You thoroughly deserved it, but the performance level of your team was outstanding. Your personality runs right throughout the whole club. It was a marvellous performance.

“I’ll forgive you for waking me up at 3.30am to tell me you have won the league! Thank you, but anyway, you thoroughly deserved it. Well done.”

On the same evening, Marcelo Bielsa won the award for Sky Bet Championship Manager of the Year after guiding Leeds to a Premier League return following a 16-year-absence.

Klopp is also in the running for the Barclays Premier League Manager of the Year which will be announced separately at the start of August.