• Match preview

Leicester City 4-2 Man United: Premier League Player Ratings

Leicester City vs Man United - Premier League
Credit: Man United official Twitter

Merely a spectator for the majority of 90 minutes, Cristiano Ronaldo was helpless in preventing yet another embarrassment for the Red Devils.

Manchester United, after losing out to Aston Villa and being held to a draw by Everton in their two previous league fixtures prior to the international break, stumbled on a third successive occasion in the Premier League after being humbled by Leicester City on Saturday.

Leicester City inflicted a 4-2 defeat upon Manchester United at the King Power Stadium, bringing an end to their opponents’ 29-game unbeaten away record.

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer’s men drew first blood, with Mason Greenwood handing his side the lead at minute 19 with a stunning strike into the top corner from outside the box.

Their lead, however, was not very long-lasting as the hosts responded about just 10 minutes later through Youri Tielemans, who capitalized on a Harry Maguire error and beat David de Gea with an exquisite chip.

Late in the second period, Leicester turned the game on its head when Caglar Soyuncu poked the ball into an empty net.

Marcus Rashford, who made his first appearance of the season, leveled the score once again but his goal proved to be unprofitable as Jamie Vardy within seconds of the restart before Patson Daka added another inside what was a frantic final 10 minutes to put the game beyond doubt for Brendan Rodgers’s men.

The result sees Man United fall further behind in the Premier League title race as they now sit at fifth place, four points behind leaders Liverpool.  

Leicester City vs Man United Player Ratings

Leicester City: Schmeichel – 7, Amartey – 6, Evans – 7, Soyuncu – 6, Pereira – 6, Soumare – 7, Tielemans – 8, Castagne – 7, Maddison – 6, Iheanacho – 7, Vardy – 8, Perez – 7, Daka – 8, Vestergaard – 6

Manchester United: De Gea – 7, Wan-Bissaka – 5, Lindelof – 5, Maguire – 4, Shaw – 5, Matic – 5, Pogba – 5, Fernandes – 6, Greenwood – 7, Ronaldo – 5, Sancho – 5, Rashford – 7, McTominay – 5, Lingard – 5