• News

Manchester City won the Premier League

Arsenal v Manchester City - Carabao Cup Final
Getty Images

Manchester City are the new Premier League champions after their closest rival, Manchester United, failed at home against West Bromwich Albion and were beaten 1-0 by the bottom-placed team on Sunday.

Meanwhile, Manchester City managed to beat Tottenham Hotspur in a crucial battle the day before and they won 3-1 at Wembley – it is the first Premier League title for Pep Guardiola who came at Etihad before almost two years after ending his spell at Bayern Munich.

The Citizens were dominating the league almost from the very beginning and they were unbeaten for a long period of time until they were stopped by Liverpool 4-3 away from home. However, they are leading the table by 16 points now with just five games remaining to be played so it is not possible for Manchester United to chase them.

It is the fifth Premier League triumph for Manchester City and the last one came in 2013-14 under Manuel Pellegrini who was later replaced by Guardiola. It is the second trophy for the Spaniard here as he managed to win EFL Cup earlier this year by beating Arsenal in the final match at Wembley.