Mauro Icardi named Serie A Footballer of the Year

Inter Milan captain Mauro Icardi has been named the Serie A Footballer of the Year for his exploits in 2018

The Argentine striker scored 29 goals last season to finish as the league’s joint-top goalscorer alongside Lazio’s Ciro Immobile.

Icardi’s tally helped Inter finished fourth in the standings and secure a return to the Champions League after a six-season absence.

Now Icardi’s efforts over the last 12 months have been awarded with the Gran Galà del Calcio AIC announcing on their website he had been voted player of the year.

It means Icardi becomes the first non-Juventus player to win Serie A’s Footballer of the Year since Zlatan Ibrahimovic in 2011.

Juventus boss Massimiliano Allegri was voted as the Manager of the Year for a fourth consecutive time.

2017/18 Serie A Team of the Year

Goalkeeper: Alisson Becker (AS Roma) *

Frank de Boer recalls his terrible Inter Milan experience

Frank de Boer recalled his ill-fated brief spell in charge of Inter Milan, where he was made to feel undermined by the club.

Defenders: Kalidou Koulibaly (SSC Napoli), João Cancelo (Inter) *, Giorgio Chiellini and Alex Sandro (Juventus FC)

Midfielders: Miralem Pjanic (Juventus FC), Sergej Milinkovic-Savic (SS Lazio), Radja Nainggolan (AS Roma) *

Forwards: Mauro Icardi (Inter), Ciro Immobile (SS Lazio), Paulo Dybala (Juventus FC)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here