Mbappe wins ‘Golden Boy’ award

PSG’s forward has won the prestigious award, beating competition from Ousmane Dembele and Gabriel Jesus.

The ‘Golden Boy‘ trophy is awarded to the best player under the age of 21 in European football. The final shortlist included Kylian Mbappe from PSG (previously with Monaco), Ousmane Dembele from Barcelona (previously with Borussia Dortmund) and Gabriel Jesus from Manchester City.

The trophy is awarded by the Italian newspaper Tuttosport and is decided by a panel of 30 journalists, analysing the players’ performances during a calendar year.

Mbappe helped his former team, Monaco, to secure the Ligue 1 title and reach the Champions League semi-finals. His performances have attracted a lot of interest, as he was tempted with moves to Real Madrid, Barcelona or Manchester City. In the end, he chose to remain in France but changed teams, sealing an initial loan move to Paris Saint Germain. However, the move is set to become permanent next summer, when PSG have an obligation to pay €180m to Monaco for the 18-year-old.

Manchester City has a fun field trip to Shakhtar Donetsk

With a solid performance from Riyad Mahrez, Manchester City started the season on the right foot during their trip to Shakhtar Donetsk. Pep Guardiola has...

Ousmane Dembele was Barcelona’s record signing this summer. After having lost Neymar to PSG, the Catalans paid an initial €105m for the transfer of Dembele. Another €45m are committed in bonuses. The 20-year-old forced his move away from Borussia Dortmund, but his impact at his new team was limited. Dembele suffered an injury during his third appearance for Barcelona and was ruled out of action for the rest of the year.

The third man on the final shortlist, Gabriel Jesus, impressed with his performances at Manchester City since joining them in January from Palmeiras. In his first 11 matches for the Citizens, Jesus scored seven goals.

Previously, the ‘Golden Boy‘ award, that was introduced in 2003, was won by players like Wayne Rooney, Lionel Messi, Cesc Fabregas, Sergio Aguero, Isco or Paul Pogba.

Kylian Mbappe won this year’s award with 291 votes, while his France teammate, Ousmane Dembele, came second, with 149 votes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here