• Top News

Messi and Ronaldo miss the Champions League nominees

Getty Images

For the first time in over a decade, Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo didn’t make the cut for the UEFA Champions League award nominees. 

Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo had been constant names amongst the UEFA Champions League award nominees. From 2007 to 2020, at least one of them had been part of a category. Both of them shared the spotlight several times.

But time passes by and both legends are growing older, none of them made the list for the first time in over a decade. They usually competed in the Player of the Season and Forward of the Season categories.

This time around, only the forwards’ nominees have been announced and none of them are on the list. We need to remember that Cristiano’s Juventus was eliminated by Olympique Lyon in the quarterfinals. While Messi’s Barcelona was demolished by Bayern Munich in the same stage of the competition. 

Who is nominated? 

The players will receive their awards during the upcoming UEFA Champions League draw on October 1st. The nominees for best forward of the season are Kylian Mbappe, Neymar, and Robert Lewandowski. It’s safe to say that the Polish striker is the favorite to win this award.

In the midfielder category, we have Thiago Alcantara, Thomas Müller, and Kevin De Bruyne. Bayern Munich has all three spots for defender of the season with Joshua Kimmich, David Alaba, and Alphonso Davies. And finally, the goalkeeper category has Manuel Neuer, Keylor Navas, and Jan Oblak.

Needless to say, it’s quite possible that Bayern Munich will have a clean sweep in all the awards after their historic treble-winning season. The Bavarian giants have a total of seven nominees this year. But the biggest take-away of this is Messi and Ronaldo shining for their absence. Time is finally catching up to all of us. 

Final verdict on the UEFA Award. 

Messi and Ronaldo have won the UEFA Award for Player of the Season several times. However, this year will be very different and we believe a Bayern player should get it. Robert Lewandowski seems like the obvious choice for voters. Stay tuned for October 1st, when we’ll bring you all the details about the ceremony. 

Will Messi and Ronaldo get more nominations in the future?