• News

Messi and Ronaldo shortlisted for Player of the Year award


UEFA have announced the shortlist for the UEFA Men’s Player of the Year Award and both Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo have made it, together with Gianluigi Buffon.

The award, formerly known as Best Player in Europe Award, will find its next owner on the 24th of August. Last year, the trophy was won by Cristiano Ronaldo.

Lionel Messi has also won the trophy twice, with Andres Iniesta and Franck Ribery the only other players to have won it.

UEFA described the procedure of selecting the shortlist in its guidelines: “The shortlist of three players was selected by a jury comprising the 80 coaches of the clubs which participated in the group stage of the 2016-17 Champions League and Europa League, along with 55 journalists selected by the European Sports Media (ESM) group, representing each of UEFA’s member associations.”

Cristiano Ronaldo is favourite to win the trophy again this year, as he helped his team defend their Champions League trophy, as well as winning the La Liga title, UEFA Super Cup and Club World Cup.

Lionel Messi finished as top scorer in la Liga and won the Copa del Rey with Barcelona.

The other player on the shortlist, Gianluigi Buffon won the Serie A title and Coppa Italia with Juventus, as well as helping his team reach the final of Champions League.

The players that completed the top 10 are as follows: Luka Modric, Toni Kroos, Paulo Dybala, Sergio Ramos, Kylian Mbappe, Robert Lewandowski and Zlatan Ibrahimovic.