• News

Morata thanks VAR for ‘gift’ after brace against Mallorca

Alvaro Morata, Atletico Madrid
Getty Images
Advertisement

Alvaro Morata is content with the result of the match against Mallorca but feels he could have contributed more in terms of goals.

Atletico Madrid striker Alvaro Morata netted twice to help his side complete a resounding victory against Mallorca Friday night.

The 3-0 win saw Atleti extend their unbeaten streak to 12 games. Now sitting at the third spot in the league table with 62 points, the win also helped make their case stronger for Champions League qualification.

Morata’s first goal came from through a penalty, which he earned himself. His initial attempt was saved by the opposition goalkeeper but, following a Mallorcan player’s encroachment in the penalty area, the referee instructed him to retake the spot-kick.

Speaking after the match [via AS], the Spaniard said he was grateful to the video assistant for giving him a second chance to redeem his mistake.

“I have not seen anything, I was overwhelmed by having failed,” he said.

“I did not expect such a gift from the VAR. But when they gave [the decision] that it was repeated, I tried to change the chip to score.

“It is important for a striker to score goals. I wanted more than two. In the end, I have not played much more, but very happy, especially for the team.”