• News

On this day: France won their second World Cup title last year

France v Croatia - 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia Final
Getty Images

On this day last summer, France won their second World Cup crown, defeating Croatia 4-2 at the Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow.

It’s been 365 days since the 2018 FIFA Wolrd Cup Final between France and Croatia. It was one of the most entertaining finals in recent history, which saw six goals and finished with a 4-2 victory for the French side.

Road to the Final

Les Blues started their World Cup campaign with a 2-1 win over Australia, but were very unconvincing during the group stage, netting only three goals in three games to win seven points.

Croatia, on the other hand, won all nine points in Group D with Argentina, Nigeria, and Iceland, with a goal difference of 7-1.

Their groups paired in the Round of 16, but because both France and Croatia finished as group winners, it meant their first opponents in the knockout stage are Argentina and Denmark respectively.

France vs Argentina was perhaps the most exciting game at the World Cup, which included almost everything: stunning goals (including the best goal of the competition), turnarounds, a lot of yellow cards, but also fast and entertaining football.

Kylian Mbappe shined for Les Blues, netting twice in a 4-3 victory which was France qualify for the quarter-finals. They met Uruguay in the next stage of the tournament, beating them 2-0, before the tight 1-0 victory over Belgium in the semi-finals.

Croatia reached the final after two wins on penalties: against Denmark and host nation Russia and one win after extra-time, in the semi-final against England.

2018 FIFA World Cup Final

On 15 July 2018, the Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow was the stage of the biggest game of the year – the FIFA World Cup Final.

Mario Mandzukic’s own-goals put France in the lead only 18 minutes into the final, while Ivan Perisic leveled for The Blazers 10 minutes later.

The Croatia National Team played bravely during the first half, but Antoine Griezmann from the spot in the 38th minute set the half time score, 2-1.

Les Bleus started the second half furiously, netting two quick goals to put the game to bed through Paul Pogba and Kylian Mbappe, who became the first teenager since Pele to score in a World Cup Final.

Hugo Lloris’ blunder in the 69th minute of the game, provided Mario Mandzukic the opportunity to redeem himself for the own goal, but it wasn’t enough to get back Croatia into the final.

It was France 4-2 Croatia at the end, as The Blues won their second FIFA World Cup title and first one away from home.

The Chequered Ones were probably satisfied with the second place as well, as it was their first time reaching the Final of the competition and it was also unexpected to see them there.

Luka Modric was named as the Player of the Tournament to get a bit of consolation after the defeat, while French woderkid Kylian Mbappe won the FIFA World Cup Best Young Player Award.