Megan Rapinoe is the front runner to scoop the Women’s Ballon D’Or award to go with her FIFA Best.

The list sees 20 of the very best female footballers battle it out as nominees for the Ballon D’Or trophy.

Based on nationality, the list is dominated by this year’s World Cup winners the USA.

The Americans boast a total of four players on the list.

Domestically, however, Lyon of France comes out on top with six players on the list.

Brazillian legend Marta makes the list, as does the USA’s Alex Morgan.

The top three from FIFA’s the best are likely to be the final candidates.

While Rapinoe is the favourite, to add the goalden ball to her FIFA best award, she can expect a close run from teammate Alex Morgan and England’s Lucy Bronze.

The list according to France Football reads:

  • Kosovare Asllani (CD Tacon/Sweden)
  • Ada Hegerberg (Lyon/Norway)
  • Tobin Heath (Portland Thorns/USA)
  • Sofia Jakobsson (CD Tacion/Sweden)
  • Rose Lavelle (Washington Spirit/USA)
  • Marta (Orlando Pride/Brazil)
  • Lieke Martens (Barcelona/Netherlands)
  • Megan Rapinoe (Reign FC/USA)
  • Wendie Renard (Lyon/France)
  • Sari van Veenendal (Atlético Madrid/Netherlands)
  • Sarah Bouhaddi (Lyon/France)
  • Lucy Bronze (Lyon/England)
  • Nilla Fischer (Linköpings/Sweden)
  • Pernille Harder (VfL Wolfsburg/Denmark)
  • Amandine Henry (Lyon/France)
  • Sam Kerr (Chicago Red Stars/Australia)
  • Dzsenifer Marozsan (Lyon/Germany)
  • Viviane Miedema (Arsenal/Netherlands)
  • Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride/USA)
  • Ellen White (Manchester City/England)

Last year was the inaugural ceremony for the women’s award, Lyon and Norway striker Ada Hegerberg was the winner.

Vlatko andonovski, USWNT

Official: Andonovski succeeds Ellis as USWNT coach

US Soccer Federation has officially appointed Vlatko Andonovski as the successor to Jill Ellis as the new manager of the women's national team. USSF president...

There was much controversy, when host Martin Solveig, a French DJ, asked the winner  if she could “twerk.”

Hegerberg is nominated again, but after not featuring in the World Cup this summer is considered a serious contender for the title this year.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here