• Match

Real win Madrid derby Supercopa in a penalty shootout

Real Madrid Supercopa
Getty Images

Real Madrid overcame cross town rivals Atletico Madrid to win the Spanish Supercopa 4-1 in a penalty shootout.

The first Spanish Supercopa to be played on foreign soil was a Madrid derby.

It was a hard-fought game, which saw Los Blancos finally come out on top.

There was little between the two teams in the regular time 90 minutes. Both sides had chances to clinch the victory.

Over the course of 120 plus minutes of football Real edged their neighbors in terms of possession, 66% to 34%.

But when it came to attempts on goal there was little between them. 24 shots by Zidane’s men, and 15 from Simeone’s. Of 39 between the two sides, they registered a mere five each on target.

Of the two teams, Los Rojiblancos will feel the hardest done by not getting the winner in regular play. In the 115th minute, Alvaro Morta was free and clear of the Real defense and sprinting towards goal.

Only for Federico Valverde to commit a cynical foul and bring the Atletico forward down.

Valverde knew what was coming, and took his marching orders from the referee.

The game threatened to boil over as the players started pushing and shoving.

As he left the field of play in what the neutral and Atletico fans will deem a disgrace, his boss Zidane gave him a pat on the back.

The Frenchman knew the young Uruguayan did what he had to do and took one for the team.

After over 120 minutes of football, there was still no winner. The game went to penalty kicks.

Here Atletico fell apart, while Real kept their heads.

Carvajal put away number one for real, only for Saul to miss it for Atleti.

Rodrygo made no mistake for Real, and yet again Atletico missed through Thomas.

Modric and Trippier made theirs, to leave the score at 3-1 the Zidane’s men. One more for his side and it was all over.

Who else but club captain Sergio Ramos to take the next one. Mr. Professional himself stepped up and made no mistake.

4-1 and Real Madrid were Spanish Supercopa Champions.