• News

Remembering the past winners of Copa America

Argentina v Chile: Championship - Copa America Centenario
Getty Images

Let’s go down memory lane and remember the previous five winners of Copa America, as the 46th edition of the South American Championship starts on Friday.

Hosts of the competition, Brazil, will open the 2019 Copa America, as they face Bolivia in the opener on Friday night. They will host the tournament for the fifth time this summer, looking to win their ninth South American Championship.

We are only two days away from the start of the competition, making it the perfect time to remember the past five Copa America winners.

There are three countries which won the tournament in the previous five editions, with Argentina losing in four finals in the process. Let’s start with the 2004 Copa America, hosted in Peru.