• News

Report: 2019 FIFA Fifpro men’s team of the year

FIFA Fifpro 11
Getty Images

The 2019 FIFA Fifpro men’s team of the year has been announced.

While there is no doubt about the quality of the players who make the list of 11, there is perhaps more said about those who miss out than those who make it.

There are three players from the English Premier League. Alisson Becker, Virgil Van Dijk and former Chelsea man Eden Hazard.

Becker won a personal accolade and deservedly so made the team, while Van Dijk was maybe robbed of a personal award, but without a doubt warranted a place in the 11.

Quite unbelievably, not a single Manchester City player, and no place for Liverpool’s Sadio Mane or Mohamed Salah.

Considering the dominance of English football in the past twelve months, it was surprising that of the 20 that made the 55 man shortlist only those three survived the cull.

Real Madrid, Juventus, Barcelona and PSG players made up the remaining team members.

Considering their rather disappointing seasons, it shocked many.

The likes of Sergio Ramos and Marcelo of Real Madrid making their fifth and sixth consecutive appearances on the list respectively which shocked many.

While last years Player of the year Luka Modric also surprisingly made the final eleven.

Former Ajax men, Matthijs De Ligt and Frenkie De Jong both made the list, after standout season in Europe and domestically. De Ligt is now at Juventus and De Jong at Barcelona.

The final three spots, really need no introduction. Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, and Kylian Mbappe.

Messi was no surprise, given he won the feature men’s award, and perhaps rightly so in a season that saw him score 51 goals in 50 games.

While there is no doubt about Ronaldo and Mbappe’s calibre, they perhaps made this year’s team on past glories, as neither had an exceptional season by their high standards.