• News

Report: PFA and FWA set to be split between Sterling and Van Dijk

Getty Images

Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk and Manchester City forward Raheem Sterling look set to go home with individual accolades for the 2018/19 player of the year awards.

According to The Times, former Liverpool man Sterling – who has scored 23 goals in all competitions this season – is believed to be ahead in the voting for the Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year Award.

On the hand, his Liverpool counterpart Van Dijk who has been phenomenal in the club’s League campaign this season is expected to win the PFA award – voted for by all professional players in England.

MANCHESTER, ENGLAND – APRIL 10: Raheem Sterling of Manchester City clashes with Virgil van Dijk of Liverpool during the UEFA Champions League Quarter Final Second Leg match between Manchester City and Liverpool at Etihad Stadium on April 10, 2018, in Manchester, England. (Photo by Shaun Botterill/Getty Images,)

The Dutchman and his colleagues have conceded just 20 goals in the league so far, keeping 18 clean sheets.

Mohamed Salah who was in breathtaking form last season made a clean sweep of both accolades same for Luis Suarez in 2013/14.

Other Liverpool players to have won any of those awards includes Steven Gerrard, John Barnes and Steve Nicol etc.

Despite winning the title three times in the last seven years, a Man City player has never won the PFA award and the last time a member of their squad won the FWA award was in the 1960s.