Ronaldo nominated for Ballon d’Or award

FIFA Ballon d'Or Gala 2014
ZURICH, SWITZERLAND - JANUARY 12: Cristiano Ronaldo of Portugal and Real Madrid receives the 2014 FIFA Ballon d'Or award for the player of the year during the FIFA Ballon d'Or Gala 2014 at the Kongresshaus on January 12, 2015 in Zurich, Switzerland. (Photo by Philipp Schmidli/Getty Images)

Cristiano Ronaldo has been nominated for the 2018 Ballon d’Or award

The five-time winner inspired Real Madrid to a third successive Champions League crown last season and scored 44 goals in as many games across all competitions.

Joining him in the second batch of nominees are Real Madrid goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois, Manchester City midfielder Kevin de Bruyne, Liverpool forward Roberto Firmino and Atletico Madrid defender Diego Godin.

France Football magazine are set to include 30 nominees for this year’s Ballon d’Or award, which will be announced throughout the day in alphabetical order.

The Ballon d’Or is a prestigious individual award that was first presented to Sir Stanley Matthews in 1956 and has since been awarded to the best player of the year ever since.

The current list of nominees are:

VALENCIA, SPAIN - APRIL 03: Gareth Bale of Real Madrid sits on the bench prior to the La Liga match between Valencia CF and Real Madrid CF at Estadio Mestalla on April 03, 2019 in Valencia, Spain. (Photo by David Ramos/Getty Images)

Valdano doesn’t believe Bale will stay with Madrid

The Wales international is rumored to be moving out of Real Madrid in the summer, as the team doesn't seem to find a place for him.

  • Sergio Aguero (Man City)
  • Gareth Bale (Real Madrid)
  • Alisson Becker (Liverpool)
  • Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)
  • Edinson Cavani (PSG)
  • Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (Man City)
  • Roberto Firmino (Liverpool)
  • Diego Godin (Atletico Madrid)