Salah escapes FA punishment for penalty incident

The English Football Association (FA) have decided to not take action against Mohamed Salah for the way he won a penalty in Liverpool’s 4-0 win

The Egyptian forward seemingly fell down too easily when Newcastle’s Paul Dummett tugged his arm at Anfield with Liverpool already 1-0 up.

Referee Graham Scott awarded the hosts a spot-kick with Salah stepping up to score their second of the game.

Magpies boss Rafael Benitez, who earlier this week labelled Salah one of the world’s best players, called the penalty call a “soft” one.

He told Sky Sports: “The soft penalty in the game made the difference, we were in the game 1-0 at half-time, but when we conceded the second goal it was more difficult for us to react against a very good team.

But now the FA confirmed on Sky Sports that Salah will not be investigated as the second-half incident didn’t reach the threshold for “attempting to deceive the referee”.

Dimitar Berbatov, Manchester United

Ex-Man United star Dimitar Berbatov confirms retirement

Former Manchester United striker Dimitar Berbatov has confirmed that his days as a footballer are over at the age of 38.

This means Salah will face no match bans and can start in Liverpool’s Premier League clash with Arsenal on Saturday.

Dejan Lovren, Xherdan Shaqiri and substitute Fabinho were the other scorers for Liverpool in a 4-0 win over Newcastle on Wednesday.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here