• News

Salah, Mane & Aubameyang SHARE Golden Boot award

Liverpool FC v Wolverhampton Wanderers - Premier League
Getty Images

Liverpool duo Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane along with Arsenal’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang have incredibly finished level on goals in the 2018/19 Golden Boot race.

Salah, Mane and Aubameyang all finished level on 22 goals following a dramatic season finale in the Premier League, which saw Manchester City being crowned champions for a second successive season.

Meanwhile, Liverpool finished a point behind winners City on a remarkable 97 points after defeating Wolves 2-0 at Anfield.

But one of the main talking points was the fact that THREE players will share the Golden Boot award for the first time since the 1998/99 season when Jimmy Floyd-Hasselbaink, Michael Owen and Dwight Yorke shared the award on 18 goals.

While competitions like the World Cup determine the victors of a tie based on the number of assists the goalscorers manage, the Premier League simply just shares it.

Heading into Sunday, though, Salah was the top-scorer and seemingly on course to be the sole winner for a second consecutive season. He held a two-goal lead over Manchester City’s Sergio Aguero, Aubameyang and Mane going into the final day.

But Salah came up short at Anfield this afternoon, with strike partner Mane instead scoring both goals for Liverpool in their 2-0 victory over Wolves.

It enabled the ever-impressive Senegal international to finish level on 22 goals with Salah at the top of the Premier League scoring charts. It also marks Mane’s most prolific campaign in front of goal in his career.

To the shock of everybody, however, Aubameyang joined the Salah and Mane at the top of the scoring charts after netting a brace in Arsenal’s 3-1 win at Burnley.

BURNLEY, ENGLAND – MAY 12: Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Arsenal poses with the golden boot trophy after the Premier League match between Burnley FC and Arsenal FC at Turf Moor on May 12, 2019 in Burnley, United Kingdom. (Photo by Alex Livesey/Getty Images)

The Gabon captain has been outstanding in his first full season of English football, despite not being able to help Arsenal secure a return to the Premier League top-four.

Despite getting on the scoresheet himself in City’s 4-1 thrashing of Brighton, Aguero ended up finishing just one goal shy of matching the trio.

Top-10 Premier League goalscorers

  • = 1 Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal): 22
  • =1 Mohamed Salah (Liverpool): 22
  • =1 Sadio Mane (Liverpool): 22
  • 4. Sergio Aguero (Manchester City): 21
  • 5. Jamie Vardy (Leicester City): 18
  • =6 Harry Kane (Tottenham): 17
  • =6 Raheem Sterling (Manchester City): 17
  • 8. Eden Hazard (Chelsea): 16
  • =9 Callum Wilson (Bournemouth): 14
  • =9 Richarlison (Everton): 14