• Top News

Salah matches Ronaldo feat after winning FWA award

Mohamed Salah, Cristiano Ronaldo
Getty Images

The Egyptian King has joined Ronaldo as one of only nine players to have won the FWA Footballer of the Year more than once.

Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah has won the Football Writers’ Association Men’s Footballer of the Year for 2021/22.

The Egyptian forward has supplied a chart-topping 22 goals and 13 assists in 31 Premier League games so far this season.

He becomes only the ninth player to win the award more than once after the likes of Arsenal legend Thierry Henry and Manchester United superstar Cristiano Ronaldo, upon first doing so in the 2017/18 campaign.

Ronaldo previously won the award at Manchester United during the 2006/07 and 2007/08 seasons.

This time around, 48% of the votes went in Salah’s favor. Manchester City midfielder Kevin De Bruyne finished second in the poll. West Ham star Declan Rice completed the top three.

According to the FWA, Salah and eight of his Liverpool teammates won votes. Six Manchester City players, including De Bruyne, were recognized. In total, 31 players from 12 different clubs won votes.

Who won the Women’s Footballer of the Year?

Chelsea forward Sam Kerr won the women’s edition of the FWA Footballer of the Year award.

The Australian claimed 40% of the votes. Arsenal forward Vivianne Miedema finished in second place, while Manchester City star Lauren Hemp wrapped up the top three in the polls.

In the women’s poll, 34 different players won votes. Chelsea had 10 players represented and Manchester City had six.

Salah and Kerr will receive their FWA Footballer of the Year awards at a ceremony on May 5.