Spanish FA approves “Final Four” format for Super Cup

The four-team tournament will take place in January 2020 from the 8th to the 12th. The FA has yet to decide the hosting country.

Starting in 2020 the Spanish Super Cup will have a new format and new date to be celebrated, according to the Spanish Football Association (RFEF) which announced the changes today.

The new format will feature the best four teams of the Copa del Rey and the La Liga competition.

If a team is in the Copa del Rey Final and in the top-two of the national competition, the place would pass down to the next team in the league.

This means that the 2019 Spanish Super Cup will feature at least Barcelona, Valencia, Atletico Madrid, and Real Madrid.

The tournament will also take place in January of next year, the first Semifinal will be played on January 8th, the second the next day, and the final on January 12th.

The host country has yet to be decided, but according to RFEF president Luis Rubiales, there’s a possibility to take it to Saudi Arabia or the United States.

“We are working on it,” said Rubiales according to Sky Sports.

“Nothing has been signed. Saudi Arabia is an option and we have not denied that.”

Transfer: Kubo goes on loan to Mallorca

Takefusa Kubo has been loaned out to Mallorca by Real Madrid for the remainder of the season. According to Spanish outlet AS, Takefusa Kubo has...

“We are looking for the best thing for the teams and the players and the referees,” he added.

“The United States is an option, we have had proposals from there too.”

“We have to look for what would be best for everyone,” the president concluded.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here