• News

Sterling wins FWA award

Crystal Palace v Manchester City - Premier League
Getty Images

Manchester City forward Raheem Sterling has been voted the 2019 Footballer of the Year by the Football Writers’ Association.

The England international topped the poll of the 400 FWA membership as a clear winner, with some 62 per cent of the votes.

According to Sky Sports, he beat the current PFA player of the year winner Liverpool defender Virgil Van Dijk with 100 votes alongside teammate Sergio Aguero in third place.

MANCHESTER, ENGLAND – SEPTEMBER 29: Raheem Sterling of Manchester City celebrates scoring the opening goal with Sergio Aguero and Bernardo Silva during the Premier League match between Manchester City and Brighton & Hove Albion at Etihad Stadium on September 29, 2018, in Manchester, United Kingdom. (Photo by Clive Brunskill/Getty Images)

The FWA Women’s Footballer of the Year award for 2019 went to Manchester City’s England forward Nikita Parris, who narrowly beat Arsenal and Holland striker Vivianne Miedema.

Other players to receive votes from FWA members were, in alphabetical order: Harry Kane (Tottenham), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Alexandre Lacazette (Arsenal), Bernardo Silva and David Silva (Manchester City).

On Sunday evening, Sterling, 24, was announced as the 2018-19 Professional Footballers’ Association Young Player of the Year.

Sterling has been one of the key players in Guardiola’s squad currently chasing a domestic treble and has taken against racism in the game, having himself been subjected to abuse.