• Top List

Top 5 clubs with the most Ballon d’Or wins

Ballon d'Or
Getty Images

Ahead of Monday’s big Ballon d’Or announcement, it’s time to check out the top 5 clubs to have won the award the most times.

Since it’s inception in 1956, France Football has had the pleasure of crowning some of the greatest players in history with the Ballon d’Or award.

Players themselves take the accolade with pride, knowing it’s a true testament to what they accomplished in the last 12 months.  

Legends such as Alfredo Di Stefano, Michel Platini, Johan Cruyff and Marco van Basten have all won it. While Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo have dominated it for most of the 21st century.

But the Ballon d’Or is also a matter of pride for the clubs, who are all eager to bask in the glory of their player’s success.

Therefore, we’ll look at the top 5 clubs to have won the most Ballon d’Or awards in history.