• Top List

Top 5 clubs with the most Ballon d’Or wins

Ballon d'Or
Getty Images

Real Madrid – 11 times

Cristiano Ronaldo
Getty Images

As the most successful European club of all-time, it shouldn’t come as a surprise to anyone to see Real Madrid so high up in this list.

It only took them two years to win the Ballon d’Or itself, when the legendary Alfredo Di Stefano won it in 1957. Raymond Kopa won it the next year for Real before the Argentine came out on top again in 1959.

From then on, however, Real endured a 41-year wait for France Football’s award.

But Luis Figo ended that streak in 2000 to spark a new era of Spanish dominance. 

Los Blancos have since won the Ballon d’Or seven times in the last 18 years through Ronaldo Nazario (2002), Fabio Cannavaro (2006), Cristiano Ronaldo (2013, 2014, 2016 & 2017) and finally Luka Modric last year.

The club also boast the record of the most Ballon d’Or winners in seven different players.