• Top List

Top 5 most controversial Ballon d’Or winners

Ballon d'Or
Getty Images

Ahead of Monday’s big Ballon d’Or announcement, it’s time to check out the top 5 most controversial recipients of the award.

France Football hands out the Ballon d’Or each year to the most impressive player over the past 12 months. It’s seen many greats take home this prestigious award in their respective careers.

The most renown recipients, of course, are five-time winners Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo.

The likes of Alfredo Di Stefano, Lev Yashin, George Best, Eusebio, Gerd Muller, Johan Cruyff, Michel Platini, Marco van Basten, Zinedine Zidane and Ronaldinho have all won it as well.

Although there have been cases where people have questioned France Football’s decisions in the past.

Therefore, we’ll look at the top 5 most questionable Ballon d’Or winners.