• Champions League

UEFA announce Champions League team of the season

Should Liverpool look at Isco?
Getty Images

The 2018/19 Champions League team of the season has been unveiled, with six Liverpool players making the 20-man shortlist.

Liverpool won a sixth European crown on Saturday in Madrid by defeating Tottenham 2-0 in the final. Mohamed Salah’s second-minute penalty and Divock Origi’s late strike sealed the team victory.

It was both the club’s first trophy in seven years and first one under manager Jurgen Klopp, who has been in the Anfield dugout since October 2015.

Now UEFA Technical Observers named six Reds players for this season’s team of the season. They are Alisson Becker, Virgil van Dijk, Trent Alexander-Arnold, Andy Robertson, Gini Wijnaldum and Sadio Mane.

But Salah, who scored five times in 12 games in the competition this term, was a surprise omission.

Kevin De Bruyne and Raheem Sterling represented Manchester City. While Jan Vertonghen, Moussa Sissoko and Lucas Moura made the cut for runners-up Spurs.

Despite Barcelona’s horrific semi-final defeat to Liverpool, Lionel Messi and Marc-Andre Ter Stegen ensured the Catalan club were included.

Dutch champions Ajax, who reached the semi-finals for the first time since 1997, had five players included. Among them was the Barcelona-bound Frenkie de Jong and the highly-rated Matthijs de Ligt.

Dethroned champions Real Madrid, on the other hand, had none of their players in the 20-man list. Paris Saint-Germain and Bayern Munich’s players also failed to make the cut.

Juventus star Cristiano Ronaldo is the sole representative for the Serie A this season.

2018/19 Champions League team of the season 

Goalkeepers: Alisson Becker (Liverpool), Marc-Andre Ter Stegen (Barcelona).

Defenders: Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool), Matthijs de Ligt (Ajax), Jan Vertonghen (Tottenham), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Andy Robertson (Liverpool).

Midfielders: Moussa Sissoko (Tottenham), Hakim Ziyech (Ajax), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Frenkie de Jong (Ajax), Tanguy Ndombele (Lyon), Georginio Wijnaldum (Liverpool).

Forwards: David Neres (Ajax), Raheem Sterling (Man City), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Dusan Tadic (Ajax), Sadio Mane (Liverpool), Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus), Lucas Moura (Tottenham).