Changing the format will lead the competition to have 16 clubs and matching the European Calendar

Written by Frederik Dill, May 19th 2017

Conmebol confirmed on Wednesday a change of format in Copa America.
Six guests will be invited to join the South American competition. Spain might be one of the guest that will be invited in 2019.
Copa America will be held in Brazil and have all the 10 Conmebol Nations: Brazil, Argentina, Uruguay, Paraguay, Chile, Peru, Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador and Venezuela. On a special request from Brazilian Football Confederation (CBF) six other nations will be joining.
Just as in previous competitions the majority invited are likely to come from North America and Asia.
Yet there are reporting’s in Spain that European nations are content to debut in Copa America, including Italy, France, and Portugal.
This will also be the last Copa America held in an odd number.
They confederation want to align to the European calendar, that they play in even numbered year.
The calendar transition will be the competition in 2020 held in the United States from there on the tournament will be held every four years from that date.

Get all the latest news!
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter!
Modtag alle de seneste nyheder!
Tilmeld dig vores nyhedsbrev gratis!